maven2 bash completion complete

I have been utterly spoiled by bash completion when using svn and git for the past few months – the only thing that was missing was maven completion.  Since I could not sleep this morning, I set out to fix that.  First, a little bit of background.  I have been using MacPorts to install both subversion and git.  Both had a variant “+bash_completion” – I did not know what it did at the time, but it sounded cool so I included that variant when I installed them.

git-core @1.6.5.3_0+bash_completion+doc
subversion @1.6.5_0+bash_completion+no_bdb
For example: sudo port install git-core +bash_completion +doc

After digging a bit further, I figured out that I need to add the following lines to ~/.profile to get bash_completion to take off:

if [ -f /opt/local/etc/bash_completion ]; then
. /opt/local/etc/bash_completion
fi

On the surface you might think that completion might only be aware of common command line arguments to svn and git binaries, but they are actually a little smarter. For example, in my git repository typing “git checkout <TAB>” will list all of the branches in the repository! Very handy!

So now, how to get maven2 commands into bash completion. I started with the first Google hit: Guide to Maven 2.x auto completion using BASH. That worked, but it was missing a lot of the commands I wanted easy access to and it was not obvious to me how to extend their script.  Next, Google lead me to another hit: Maven Tab Auto Completion in Bash. This script had more completions out of the box and it was obvious how to add more. With some quick hacking, my /opt/local/etc/bash_completion.d/m2 now looks like:

# Bash Maven2 completion
#
_mvn()
{
local cmds cur colonprefixes
cmds="clean validate compile test package integration-test \
verify install deploy test-compile site generate-sources \
process-sources generate-resources process-resources \
eclipse:eclipse eclipse:add-maven-repo eclipse:clean \
idea:idea -DartifactId= -DgroupId= -Dmaven.test.skip=true \
-Declipse.workspace= -DarchetypeArtifactId= \
netbeans-freeform:generate-netbeans-project \
tomcat:run tomcat:run-war tomcat:deploy \
sakai:deploy -Predeploy \
dependency:analyze dependency:resolve \
versions:display-dependency-updates versions:display-plugin-updates \
javadoc:aggregate javadoc:aggregate-jar \
source:aggregate"
COMPREPLY=()
cur=${COMP_WORDS[COMP_CWORD]}
# Work-around bash_completion issue where bash interprets a colon
# as a separator.
# Work-around borrowed from the darcs work-around for the same
# issue.
colonprefixes=${cur%"${cur##*:}"}
COMPREPLY=( $(compgen -W '$cmds' -- $cur))
local i=${#COMPREPLY[*]}
while [ $((--i)) -ge 0 ]; do
COMPREPLY[$i]=${COMPREPLY[$i]#"$colonprefixes"}
done
return 0
} &&
complete -F _mvn mvn

You will notice that I have added the common Sakai goals like sakai:deploy or -Predeploy. I have also added some other maven plugins that I find useful. Give it a try: “mvn <TAB><TAB>” or maybe “mvn sak<TAB>” or how about “mvn ecl<TAB>”. I hope you will find bash completion just as satisfying as I do.  Best, L

2 Comments

Filed under Java, Technology

2 responses to “maven2 bash completion complete

  1. Ray Davis

    I’d never heard of this magic, Lance — thanks for the post!

  2. savithap

    This is awesome, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

